The recently released LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga has been well received. Both fans of the video game series and newcomers alike have praised the depth of the game. Many have gone as far as to say it’s the best LEGO game ever released. High praise indeed, but if you’re new to the series there could be some tricks you’ll miss. That’s where this LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga guide comes into play.

If you’re just looking for a fun knock around, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is a great opportunity to do so. However, if you’re looking to get more out of the game – or perhaps even strive for that 100% completion – you may need to pay attention to the finer details. This LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga guide is intended to offer some starting tips for beginners. It could also offer a good refresher for those who maybe haven’t played a LEGO game in a good while.

So, without further ado…

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Guide

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga screenshot

Don’t Try to Collect Everything on Your First Play

When you play through the game the first time it can be easy to get sucked into the collectathon. However, don’t feel obligated to collect everything or find all the secrets on your first visit. Truth is, you often can’t. There will be numerous items and areas that will be inaccessible without the right character. So simply playthrough the trilogies and have fun, without any pressure to collect on your first go. Well, except for…

Collect Kyber Bricks When You Can

Kyber Bricks are super helpful in getting you where you want to go. Whenever you see an easy-to-grab Kyber Brick, go for it! Most levels also include easy puzzles that can be completed with any character. These will more often than not award Kyber Bricks, or other collectibles. Kyber Bricks let you upgrade your characters, which is important for progressing towards that 100%.

Buy Upgrades ASAP

So once you’ve gotten some Kyber Bricks and amassed a decent amount of Studs, you can start upgrading your characters. In LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga there are character-type skill trees, such as Sith, smugglers etc., however it’s the general skills tree where you should focus your attention first. This improves all your characters, giving them greater speed or strength, etc.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga screenshot

While You’re There, These are the Best Upgrades for Beginners…

While all the upgrades benefit you in some way, they are not all equal. Some should be unlocked sooner rather than later, and here’s our picks for those just starting out:

  • Attract Studs: Helps you gather Studs from a distance.
  • Extra Health: You can take more damage.
  • Fast Build: Might not seem like the most useful upgrade, but it’s helpful for getting “True Jedi” rank on levels that feature breakable cover.

Furthermore, while we’re talking about upgrades there are some that will help with farming Studs. Which in turn will allow you to buy more characters and upgrades. Check these out:

  • Hidden Bounties: This upgrade is found in the bounty hunter skill tree. When active, you get 250 studs from every kill when playing as a Bounty Hunter.
  • Hero Terminal Expert / Villain Terminal Expert / Astromech Socket Expert / Paid Translator: As in previous LEGO Star Wars games, certain types of characters are able to unlock or complete specific actions in many levels. And all of these upgrades reward you bonus Studs every time you complete them. These skills are required for certain activities.

Use Freeplay for Your 100% Runs

Once you complete an episode you unlock Galactic Free Play Mode. In this mode, you can freely explore the entire game. You can also, at any point, switch your characters out for other characters, letting you complete puzzles that were previously impossible. This is where you’ll get you 100% completion, and your ‘True Jedi’ rating!

That’s all for our LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga guide. Did you find it useful? Are you looking for more info on a specific aspect of the game? Let us know in the comments below!