Back in February, Games Workshop released the first details of Warhammer Age of Sigmar’s new mercenary groups, the Regiments of Renown. Whilst these regiments will come in new special boxed sets, you can already make them if you have the correct models. To do so you’ll need the list of the new rules, which Chit Hot will be detailing here, starting with Norgrimm’s Rune Throng.
Warhammer Age of Sigmar lore is rich and varied and that’s no different for the Regiments of Renown.
Norgrimm’s Rune Throng
Once, Clan Arzabul were nobles amongst the Khazalid Empire. Yet the fall of that kingdom quashed their fortunes. Rather than succumb to despair, the Runelord Norgrimm leads the survivors to search the ruined karaks for valuable rune-lore. Amongst this recovered knowledge is the Rune of Restored Hearth.
If your army has an Order general but is not a Cities of Sigmar army, you can include this regiment of renown. If you do so, no other allied units can be included in your army. You can include this regiment of renown in your army even if its points value exceeds the amount allowed for allied units.
Rune of Restored Hearth: Each time he strikes this rune, Norgrimm and his kin are one step closer to the restoration of their ancient glory, and they’ll be damned if anyone tries to set them back.
Once per battle, in your hero phase, you can pick 1 objective within 6″ of the Runelord in this regiment of renown and say Norgrimm will strike the Rune of Restored Hearth. If you do so, for the rest of the battle, models in this regiment of renown count as 2 models for the purposes of contesting that objective, and their unit has a ward of 5+ while they are contesting that objective.
Order General Specific Rules
If your army has an Order general but is not a Cities of Sigmar army, you can include the Norgrimm’s Rune Throng regiment of renown.
These apply to all Warhammer Age of Sigmar Regiments of Renown.
Unified: One-drop deployment (core rules, 26.2.1). Each unit in this battalion must be within 6″ of the Hero in the same battalion at the end of deployment.
You can include a regiment of renown in your army even if its points value exceeds the amount allowed for allied units. If you do so, no other allied units can be included in your army.
Are you picking up one of the new Regiments of Renown or making your own? Let us know in the comments below.